Elke Sada’s Residency in Paris // New Works for Parcours Ceramique Carougeois

Mindy Solomon Gallery ceramic artist German-born Elke Sada completed a residency in Paris this August, where she created new works for the Parcours Ceramique Carougeois in Geneva, Switzerland, on view through October 6th. She also used her time in France to produce new drawings.”I was very happy to have time to just sit in a square or park and watch people and do sketches. I did a lot of ink drawings in the studio and I am sure this will feed into new ideas for my three-dimensional work,” said Elke. “I went to see many museums and I was particularly intrigued by the intimate atmosphere of the small museums of former artists’ studios like Delacroix, Bourdelle, and Zadkine. Although I was on my own, I met many people due to the fact that I have artist friends in Paris, and also met many by chance. My French is not the best, so I was happy to experience so many English-speaking French-men and -women!”

Elke Sada at her summer studio in Paris

Elke Sada at her summer studio in Paris

Elke Sada's summer studio in Paris

Elke Sada’s summer studio in Paris

Elke Sada's summer studio in Paris

Elke Sada’s summer studio in Paris

Elke Sada presents a solo exhibition with Atelier Michelle Dethurens September 28-October 6 for Parcours Ceramique Carougeois, Geneva, Switzerland.Elke will also present her ceramics as part of Mindy Solomon Gallery’s exhibition at SOFA Chicago, November 1-3 at Navy Pier; click to see some of the works on offer.

Leave a Reply

